Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content



The Indianapolis Historic
Preservation Commission

Celebrating our 50th Year!!!

IHPC will be closed
 at 9:30 a.m. on Friday, December 7, 2018
We will reopen on later that day at 4 p.m.

NOTE: The "Documentation Deadline" that is notated in RED is the deadline for the applicant's "revised" documentation only.
This deadline date not for submitting new documents or plans.


Have you talked
to a reviewer yet?

You need to speak with a reviewer at least five days before the filing deadline for new projects.


Our new e-mail address is:


Need approval
to do work?

Submit  a Certificate of Appropriateness application online using my.indy.gov



Follow cases from beginning to end with Accela Citizens Access: http://permitsandcases.indy.gov/citizenaccess/
IHPC Update
Our office is no longer accepting documents via Fax. We apologize for any inconvenience. We are still accepting them via email, U.S. Mail, and drop-off in person.
What is the Indianapolis Historic Preservation Commission?
In 1967, the Indiana State Legislature passed 
State Statute IC 36-7-11.1 which established and empowered the Indianapolis Historic Preservation Commission (IHPC) to preserve the character and fabric of historically significant areas and structures for all present and future citizens of Marion County, Indiana. The IHPC accomplishes this task by protecting areas through local designation and through providing technical assistance on the restoration and rehabilitation of historic structures or areas.
The Indianapolis Historic Preservation Commission (IHPC) is a nine-member board appointed by the executive and legislative body of the consolidated city, with design and zoning review jurisdiction in the locally designated historic districts and conservation districts. Since 1976, the IHPC has had a professional staff that functions as a division of the Department of Metropolitan Development of the City of Indianapolis. The IHPC provides design and zoning review and approval for locally designated historic districts, conservation areas, and individually designated properties.