Housing Data
Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
The Division of Planning maintains and compiles housing data from various sources, such as the U.S. Census Bureau and the Federal Financial Institutions Examination Council.  Currently, the following information is available from the Division of Planning:

Community Reinvestment Act (CRA)

The Community Reinvestment Act, enacted by the Congress in 1977, is intended to encourage depository institutions to help meet the credit needs of the communities in which they operate, including low- and moderate-income neighborhoods, consistent with safe and sound banking operations. The CRA requires that each insured depository institution's record in helping meet the credit needs of its entire community be evaluated periodically. That record is taken into account in considering an institution's application for deposit facilities, including merges and acquisitions.

Home Mortgage Disclosure Act (HMDA)

The Home Mortgage Disclosure Act (HMDA) was enacted by Congress in 1975 and is implemented by the Federal Reserve Board's Regulation C. This regulation provides the public loan data that can be used to assist:
  • in determining whether financial institutions are serving the housing needs of their communities;
  • public officials in distributing public-sector investments so as to attract private investment to areas where it is needed;
  • and in identifying possible discriminatory lending patterns.
Mortgage Insurance Companies of America (MICA)

The Mortgage Insurance Companies of America (MICA) compile data on the disposition of applications for mortgage insurance from seven major private mortgage insurance companies.