Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content


Marion County is 396 square miles with nine townships (Center, Decatur, Franklin, Lawrence, Perry, Pike, Warren, Washington, and Wayne), three incorporated cities (Beech Grove, Lawrence, and Southport), and the Town of Speedway.

Marion County is located in the center of the State of Indiana and Indianapolis is the site of the State Capitol.  It is bounded on the north by the cities of Zionsville, Carmel, and the Town of Fishers; south by the City of Greenwood.  Decatur and Franklin Townships remain rural areas with continuous growth toward urbanization. The population of Indianapolis-Marion County is 860,454 with a population of 1,536,665 in the metropolitan area according to the 2000 census.

A total of five Interstate highways (I-65, I-69, I-70, I-74, I-465) and eight state highways (US 31, US 36, US 40, US 52, US 136, SR 37, SR 67, and SR 135) converge on the City.  I-465 is almost entirely situated in Marion County.  Five rail lines also serve the area; Consolidated Rail Corporation, CSX Corporation, Louisville and Indiana Railroad, Indiana Southern, and Indiana Railroad.   Nuclear waste from Ohio travels through Indianapolis both by rail and truck transport on a regular basis.

Major petroleum pipelines which pass through Marion County are operated by Amoco Pipeline, Buckeye Pipeline, Marathon Ashland, Panhandle Eastern, Shell Oil Products and Texas Eastern Products.

The Indianapolis International Airport is a Class C facility with three runways in southwest Marion County.  It is served by 21 airlines and handles approximately 7.3 million passengers with 719 takeoffs and landings per day.  It is the third busiest cargo hub in the United States.

Eleven major hospitals provide medical care for Marion County and the metro area.

The following hazards have been identified as having the possibility of occurring within Marion County as a result of our infrastructure, climatic patterns and population:

    • Highway Transport
    • Fixed Facility
    • Rail Transport
    • Pipeline
    • Wildland Fire (May-October)
    • Dam Failure
  • EARTHQUAKES (New Madrid fault, Wabash Valley fault)
    • Nuclear Incident
    • Biological-Chemical terrorism