Medal of Valor Recipients
Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Medal of Valor Recipients

Each year, the Indianapolis Fire Department holds an annual Recognition Banquet to recognize the good deeds and sometimes courageous acts of their firefighters. The Banquet is typically held in January for the previous year.

The Indianapolis Fire Department Recognition Banquet is solely funded with sponsorship donations and we would love your help. The sponsorship levels  below allow you to choose how you would like to participate in this important evening.  Two complimentary tickets to the banquet are given for donations in the amount of $100 or greater.

Platinum Sponsorship - $1000.00 and above.

Gold Sponsorship - $500.00 to $999.00

Silver Sponsorship - $150.00 to $499.00

Bronze Sponsorship - $50.00 to $149.00

Friend of the Banquet - $25.00 to $49.00

All sponsors are recognized in the evening’s program and during closing credits of the televised ceremony, which is broadcast several times on government access Channel 16 throughout the year. If you or your business is interested in a sponsorship opportunity please contact Battalion Chief Rita Reith at 317-327-6086 /

Checks can be made out to IFD Recognition Ceremony and mailed to :

Rita Reith
Battalion Chief - Media Relations Division
Indianapolis Fire Department
955 Ft. Wayne Ave
Indianapolis, IN 46202

Medal of Valor Recipients

The Medal of Valor is awarded to the Indianapolis Firefighter who conspicuously performs an act of gallantry and valor involving extreme risk to their own life while attempting a rescue. The deed performed shall be one of personal bravery or self-sacrifice so conspicuous as to clearly distinguish the individual's act.
Lt. Richard Vansant
Jr 1998 & 1995
​Jake Jacobi
​Engr. Larry Tucker
​Engr. Don Duncan 1996
​Cpt. James Lewis 1995 Vincent Vaughn
Tony Hall
Capt. Phil Ochs III 1994​
​Lt. Ralph Poteet 1994 John Zinkan
Charles Andy Egger 1993​ Lt. Thomas Arthur 1992​
​Gary McFadden 1992 Capt. Mike Spalding 1992 Wayne Van Cleave 1992​ Lt. Gary Harp
​Captain Tim King