Battalion Command 11
Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content


Indianapolis Fire Department

Celebrates 156 years of IFD

in 2015


Firefighters at Station 16 in the picture above, stand at attention for the passing funeral procession for Lieutenant Thomas Smith, the first black IFD firefighter killed in the line of duty.  Lt. Smith was the chauffeur on Hose Wagon 16 which was enroute to an alarm when it collided with  a streetcar at 16th and Central.

The Indianapolis Fire Department is comprised of  7 Battalions encompassing 44 Stations.  Each station is as individual as the neighborhood it serves. 



Shift Commander
John Walker
47 years of Service


Shift Commander
Rob Aldrich
28 years of Service


Shift Commander
Dave Harris
39 Years of Service