Council to Host Investigative Election Committee Meetings around the County
Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content


Media Contact:

Christina Cesnik
Council to Host Investigative Election Committee Meetings around the County

Indianapolis – Councillor Jackie Nytes, Council Investigative Election Committee Chair, announced that the committee will hold four meetings in different locations around the county to collect citizen input about improving our election process.

Councillor Nytes said, "By meeting at 6:30 pm in different locations around the county, these committee hearings will be more convenient for the public to attend.  This committee will be investigating what occurred during the primary election and looking for ways to improve Marion County's election process.  Citizens are encouraged to attend and share their ideas with the members of the committee."

The meetings will be held at the following locations:

June 26, 2007             6:30 – 8:30 p.m.          Broad Ripple High School

June 28, 2007             6:30 – 8:30 p.m.          Ben Davis High School Auditorium

July 10, 2007               6:30 – 8:30 p.m.          Garfield Park Arts Center

July 11, 2007               6:30 – 8:30 p.m.          Warren Government Center

In 2004, the Council created the Council Investigative Election Committee to investigate elections in Marion County.  Numerous improvements were recommended at that time and many have been implemented.  A copy of the report is available from the Council Office.  The members of the current committee are Councillors Lonnell Conley, Susie Day, Ron Gibson, Robert Lutz, Cherrish Pryor, and Ryan Vaughn. 

The next full committee meeting will be July 2, 2007 at 5:00 p.m. in room 260 of the City-County Building.  The public is welcomed to testify at that meeting.