Inheritance Tax
Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

General Information

**UPDATE: The Indiana 2013-2015 Budget Bill repealed Indiana's Inheritance Tax for resident decedents dying after December 31, 2012. As a result, all forms including Applications for Consent to Transfer (form IH-14), Notices of Intended Transfer of Checking Account (form IH-19), and Indiana Inheritance Tax Returns (form IH-6) are no longer required if the decedent's date of death was in 2013 or later. If the decedent's date of death was before January 1, 2013, all requirements and forms are still in effect. We apologize for the inconvenience and please feel free to contact our office with any additional questions or concerns.

Please see the Indiana Department of Revenue's letter [PDF, 197KB] regarding the elimination of the Inheritance Tax.

Inheritance Tax is calculated based on all assets owned by a person at the time of their death.  The current, state-prescribed forms must be submitted in the county where the decedent lived at the time of death.  IH-14, IH-19 and IH-EXEM forms are all filed with the Inheritance Tax office.  The Inheritance Tax return, form IH-6, is due within 9 months from the date of death and should be filed with both the Probate Court and the Inheritance Tax office.                        

 View the most recent forms.

Inheritance Tax Information

Instructions For Inheritance Tax Returns [PDF, 590KB]

The Inheritance Tax division audits the Inheritance Tax returns and therefore cannot assist in the preparation of any Inheritance Tax documents.  Please consult an attorney or tax professional for assistance in completing the documents.

The Inheritance Tax Division of the Marion County Assessor's Office is located at:

200 E. Washington St. Ste 1101

Phone: (317) 327-4924

Fax: (317) 327-4913