Clerk White Expands Early Voting Options
Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

For Immediate Release
Tuesday, September 21, 2010

Media Contact
Angie Nussmeyer, 317-327-5099

Clerk White Expands Early Voting Options

INDIANAPOLIS - Marion County Clerk Beth White today announced expanded early voting hours at the Clerk’s office beginning Monday, October 4. 

Under White’s direction, the City-County Building location of the Marion County Clerk’s office will now be open for early voting from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. Monday through Friday as well as 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. for four full weekends beginning Saturday, October 9. Early voting at the Clerk’s office located in the City-County Building will end promptly at noon on Monday, November 1. 

In addition to expanded hours at the City-County Building location, White announced that two additional Clerk's office locations will be open for early voting -- at the Clerk’s offices located at the traffic and juvenile courts. These office locations will be open from 10 to 5 p.m. for four full weekends beginning October 9 and will also be open from 5 to 8 p.m. starting Monday, October 25 through Friday, October 29. Voting at the Clerk's office locations in the juvenile and traffic courts will close at 5 p.m. on Sunday, October 31. 

“This solution is not ideal, but I promised the voters of Marion County that I would explore all legal options to provide flexible and accessible early voting options for November’s election,” Marion County Clerk Beth White said. 

Because the Marion County Clerk’s office maintains locations at both traffic court and juvenile court, they may serve as early voting sites. Traffic court is located at 9049 E. 10th Street, and juvenile court is located at 2451 N. Keystone Avenue. 

At a minimum, state law requires the Marion County Clerk’s office to open its doors to early voters 29 days before regularly scheduled elections, including the two Saturdays before Election Day. Voters do not need a reason to vote early in person, but do need to show a valid photo ID issued by the state of Indiana or federal government. 

For more information about absentee voting, visit www.indy.gov/election or call (317) 327-VOTE. 

Early Voting at the Downtown Clerk’s Office
City-County Building, 200 E. Washington St., W 122,
Indianapolis, IN 
 

Monday, October 4 to Friday, October 8
8 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Saturday, October 9 and Sunday October 10
10 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Monday, October 11 to Friday, October 15
8 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Saturday, October 16 and Sunday October 17
10 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Monday, October 18 to Friday, October 22
8 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Saturday, October 23 and Sunday October 24
10 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Monday, October 25 to Friday, October 29
8 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Saturday, October 30 and Sunday October 31
10 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Monday, November 1
8 a.m. to noon

Early Voting at the Clerk’s Office Locations at Juvenile and Traffic Courts
Juvenile: 2451 N. Keystone Ave., Indianapolis
Traffic: 9049 E. 10th St., Indianapolis

Saturday, October 9 and Sunday October 10
10 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Saturday, October 16 and Sunday October 17
10 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Saturday, October 23 and Sunday October 24
10 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Monday, October 25 to Friday, October 29
5 to 8 p.m.

Saturday, October 30 and Sunday October 31
10 a.m. to 5 p.m.
 

–30 –