Clerk White: Two Important Election Reminders for Next Week
Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

For Immediate Release
Thursday, October 6, 2011


Media Contact:

Angie Nussmeyer, (317) 327-5099
Clerk White: Two Important Election Reminders for Next Week 

Early voting begins Monday, voter registration ends Tuesday 

INDIANAPOLIS – With 33 days before the municipal election, Marion County Clerk Beth White reminds voters about two important deadlines:  early voting begins Monday, October 10 and voter registration ends on Tuesday, October 11.
 
Although county offices are closed Monday, the Clerk’s office will be open from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. for early voting. The Clerk’s office is located in on the first floor in the west wing of the City-County Building located in downtown Indianapolis. Voters should use the Delaware Street entrance for easy building access. Some street parking is available, but early voters can use the pay lots at the corner of Market and Alabama streets. Voters must pre-pay the lot’s fee; however, it will be refunded after presenting a voucher available in the Election Board office.
 
Voters do not need a reason to vote early, but need to provide a valid photo ID issued by the state of Indiana or federal government. The process is simple: voters complete an application and after it’s processed by staff, are given a ballot to complete. The ballot is then sealed in a security envelope by the voter. All absentee ballots are stored in a secured vault and distributed to the voter’s precinct by bi-partisan teams on Election Day.
 
Marion County’s Full Early Voting Schedule

Mon., Oct. 10 to Fri., Oct. 28 – 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., M-F
Sat., Oct. 22 & Sun. Oct. 23 – 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Sat., Oct. 29 & Sun., Oct. 30 – 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Evening hours! Mon., Oct. 31 to Fri., Nov. 4 – 8 a.m. to 7 p.m.
Sat., Nov. 5 & Sun., Nov. 6 – 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Last Day! Mon., Nov. 7 – 8 a.m. to NOON
 
Due to the Columbus Day holiday, the voter registration deadline is pushed back to Tuesday, October 11. Residents who will be at least 18 on or before November 8 and meet other eligibility requirements can register online at www.indianavoters.com or submit an application to the Voter Registration office. Marion County voters who have moved or changed their name should also update their registration. Voter registration forms can be downloaded at www.indy.gov/voter.
 
– 30 –