Marion Superior Court Home
Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Circuit & Superior Courts
Marion Superior Court

The Marion Superior Court was established by the State Legislature as the Nineteenth Judicial Circuit of the State of Indiana under the authority of Indiana Code Title 33 [ I.C. 33-33-49 ].  

By agreement and local rules of court between the Circuit and Superior Courts in Marion County, the Circuit Court does not exercise any jurisdiction over any criminal cases.  The Marion Superior Court has exclusive jurisdiction over all criminal cases filed in this county.  The Circuit and Superior Court exercise concurrent jurisdiction over all civil issues.

The Marion Superior Court is comprised of 36 elected Judges, 29 commissioners and magistrates and over 750 staff employees.  The Court is structured with 4 divisions - Civil, Criminal, Juvenile and Probate.  

The Civil Division handles general civil cases, juvenile cases, probate and environmental cases and domestic relations matters. 

The Criminal Division handles all criminal charges filed by the Prosecutor's Office. Misdemeanors, D Felony, Major Felony, Domestic Violence and Drug cases comprise the cases filed and resolved in this division.   

In a typical year the Court will resolve nearly 40,000 criminal cases, 200,000 traffic cases and nearly 50,000 civil cases. 

The Marion Superior Court is one of 92 county court systems in the State, yet accounts for approximately 20% of all cases filed and disposed each year.